Is this stuff for real??

I am not typically a product junkie.  Sure, I have lots of “stuff” I use.  I am not particularly loyal to any of it though, and I am always willing to try something new (and typically cheaper).  But THIS stuff, its my new love.  It has no less than a bajillion uses and so far I have been pleased with every one I have tried!  Even better, it’s all natural.  No crazy chemicals, preservatives or things you can’t pronounce!

So, what, you may ask, am I talking about?

COCONUT OIL!

I first heard about it from a friend that swears it is the best thing ever for her cracked heels.  Then I read somewhere it was great for removing eye makeup.  I came across a great deal (that I will share below!!) and I was able to get some for almost nothing, so I thought it was time to try it!

I ran out of body lotion about the same time it came in, so I thought I would give it a shot.  Now, let me tell you… it is a little odd the first time you see it.  It looks a bit like a combo of Crisco and old candle wax!  It is a sort of semi-solid, until you touch it!  Basically, it remains solid until about 76*F, at which time it melts into a creamy oil.  (note: if your *ahem* cheap husband has a problem with turning on the ac before June it WILL liquify in the the tub sitting in our bathroom cabinet.  However, if you sneakily turn the air on anyway, it will solidify again… until he gets home and busts you and turns it back off)  Anyhow, I slathered it on, thinking it was a bit too much like baby oil for my liking and just knowing I was going to be slimy greasy all day.  Much to my surprise, after a bit it absorbed nicely into my skin and left it amazingly soft and smooth!  It has also been helpful on the stretch mark ravaged area in the middle of my body that was once called a stomach.  There may have even been abs at one point, but I digress.  The virgin organic type (which is what you should use, as it hasn’t processed away all the beneficial aspects) has a very faint coconut smell.  I have never noticed it after application.  My part bloodhound daughter commented on it only once, within seconds of my applying it.  I am not kidding though, her nose is super powered.

Then I happened upon a pin on Pinterest with 52 uses for Coconut oil.  I had already though about using it to remove eye makeup, but after this I decided to try using the coconut oil to cleanse my face.  Kinda scary, no one wants to look like a grease slick.  So I tried it the night before a day at home 🙂  I gently rubbed a blob around my eyes and wiped it off with a warm washcloth.  Then I slathered my entire face in the stuff and rubbed on it for 30 seconds or so.  I followed that by covering my face with a very very warm wet washcloth and let it sit until the cloth cooled (maybe 20 seconds?) and wiped the excess away.  I topped it off with a bit MORE as a moisturizer.  Woke up fresh-faced with super soft skin!

I repeated this for a few days and was over the moon with the results!  Of course, I am not one to leave good enough alone.  I had read that a combo of grape seed and castor oils were the best for cleansing, and because I cannot simply follow directions I added some tea tree oil because I know it is an excellent acne treatment.  I used the same method.  It was awful.  First off, tea tree oil smells just plain nasty.  I knew this from using it on cloth diapers among other things (yes, it smells worse than dirty cloth diapers) but I hadn’t used it on my face.  Under my nose.  I couldn’t get rid of the smell!  Plus, it broke me out terribly.  So so terribly.

I was a bit reluctant to go back to the coconut oil after that, but SO glad I did!  I feel like I have a nice healthy glow now.  I would even consider going in public without foundation, which probably hasn’t happened for at least a decade.

I didn’t stop at moisturizing and cleansing though!  I ran out of my rather expensive primer.  Not a drug store brand.  Lets just say I could buy like a gallon of coconut oil for the little 2oz. bottle of the stuff.  I tried a bit of coconut oil a few minutes before applying my makeup.  I do dab off excess before starting on the makeup.  So, now it is my morning and night moisturizer PLUS it is a natural sunscreen!

I didn’t stop in the bathroom!  There are far too many uses- and amazing benefits- to leave it in the lavatory!  My first kitchen experiment was with popcorn kernels in a brown paper bag in the microwave.  A tiny dollop of the oil, a few tablespoons of kernels, fold over the bag and prepare to enjoy!  You know that is what they use at the theater, right?  It’s also an excellent alternative to shortening, vegetable or canola oil in cooking.  I have used it in many cakes and cookies and no one has been the wiser.  It has many health benefits and is possibly helpful in battling Alzheimer’s disease.

It doesn’t stop there!  Isabelle is even more prone to itchy bug bites than me, and this is one thing that helps alleviate the itch that doesn’t send her into screaming fits of terror because it doesn’t burn when applied.  It is also good on diaper rash (and cloth diaper safe!).  Coconut oil has also been effective at treating some of Henry’s minor eczema outbreaks.  Nice replacement for the $20 tub of lotion.

That is about all we have used it for so far, but there are SO SO many other possibilities!  Basically anything you need a lubricant/oil for, you can use coconut oil- for conditioning cutting boards or leather or cast iron pans, for hinges or anywhere you would use WD-40, hair conditioner, etc, etc ,etc.  I have been so excited about this nifty little miracle of nature, I just wanted to share it with everyone!

Now, I promised to share the deal I found!  If you click the link below it will take you to Vitacost, where you can sign up for a $10 credit!  The 16oz tub of the Vitacost brand (pictured above) is only $8.49, so find some other fun item.  I got a box of quinoa.  I have been wanting to try it forever, and free is always a good way to try new things!  (for the record, it hasn’t been opened yet…)  So the two items plus shipping cost me about $5 after my $10 coupon!  And the 16oz tub is still about 1/4 full after over a month!

In full disclosure, I will also receive a credit for anyone that purchases through the link below.

http://www.vitacost.com/Referee?wlsrc=rsReferral&ReferralCode=3354296

Do you use coconut oil already?  How do you use it?  If not, if you are going to try it, how are you planning to use it?  I can’t wait to hear the great things everyone comes up with!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    May 07, 2012 @ 07:26:58

    hm….i think i need this…just ordered…can’t wait to get it…

    Reply

  2. Sara
    May 07, 2012 @ 09:19:41

    I hope you love it as much as I do!
    I can’t imagine there would be anyone that couldn’t find a use or 10 for this stuff!

    Please let me know what you think/if you find any cool uses for the coconut oil!

    Reply

  3. Nancy Lee
    May 20, 2012 @ 19:00:25

    LOVE IT! I’ve been using it on my feet for a week now and they feel as smooth as a babies butt!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

