Monday Vocabulary

Isabelle and I sure have some interesting conversations on our way to and from school.  I really cherish this special time with her, she is such a different child when her brothers aren’t around.  Much less diabolical.

Our word today- Deoxyribonucleic acid

AKA DNA.

How, you ask, does my preschooler come across Deoxyribonucleic acid?  Why, from leftover Valentine’s Day candy of course!  Who knew conversation hearts had become educational?  Makes me feel much better about letting her have them for breakfast.  Yeah, anyway…

She was in her seat reading off and sounding out the little sayings on the candy when she asked me what DNA spelled.  So I replied that it was short for Deoxyribonucleic acid.  I kid.  I said it spells D-N-A.  I am smart like that.  Ever inquisitive, she wanted to know what DNA is and why it was on her candy.

I told her I really had no clue why it was on her candy (nor did I verify that it actually said DNA, but there were some odd things on those hearts so I didn’t question it).  I then explained that it was short for the teeny tiny parts inside of us that make us who we are… the stuff that makes up our hair color and eye color, if we are tall or short, etc.

She replied,”Oh” and got quite for a minute.  Then she confidently shared her conclusion.

“But Mom, D-N-A doesn’t spell God.  That is G-O-D.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 14:21:14

    Brilliant!!

    Reply

  2. Nan
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 17:11:18

    So right there. Tell her God put it there to make her who she is and he put something different in each of her brothers. That is what makes us different.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

