So how does your garden grow?

We moved last spring, to “the country”.  Lots of big plans and great ideas.  But within a few weeks of moving, in the midst of planting season (meaning Keith was working non-stop), I had yet another kid.  So last spring/summer wasn’t exactly productive on the getting-stuff-done-on-the-homestead front.  Actually, we barely managed to keep the yard mowed.  Forget things like tending the flowerbeds! 

With a newborn, an almost 2yo and a 3yo it was impossible for me to go outside with them… and actually do something!  Maybe I need to invest in a dog run…

Anyway, we again have big plans for the year.  Of course, right now everything outside just looks sad and dilapidated.  But I am afraid even spring won’t help a lot when it comes to our yard!  We had to do several things that required trenching in the yard, so there is quite a bit of mud and several disassembled flower beds.

I feel the need to put a disclaimer in right here.  I love pretty yards.  I love flowers.  I absolutely adore the beautiful scenery our world has to offer.  BUT I don’t actually care to be IN the outdoors.  It makes me pretty miserable pretty fast actually.  I think I just may be allergic to nature.  I will go out with good intentions.  I am sniffling before I can find a bucket to throw weeds in.  By the time I get set to pull a few I have been bitten by at least 15 bugs and have quarter sized welts to prove it.  If I trudge on and actually touch something, I am pretty much guaranteed an itchy rash as a reward for my efforts.  Once I thought I would outsmart Mother Nature and I took Benadryl about an hour before I planned to go outside.  Yeah, I ended up sleeping instead!

So, with that in mind I have an amazingly awesome cousin, Amy, who loves this sort of thing and is willing to help.  She actually said last year she was EXCITED because our place had so much potential (I just have to remind her it has to be very very… very low maintenance!).  We are waiting to see what comes up because, I honestly don’t remember from last year and we will go from there.

But that is not the big thing.  Its a garden.  Keith has wanted a garden for years, but we never wanted to mess with it in town.  We have talked ad nauseum about what we want to grow in our garden- and the fruit trees and berry bushes we want to plant.  How wonderful it will be to have all that fresh produce at our fingertips!

Now the time is coming to get started… I am scared!  I have ONE live plant in my house.  And I have already told you how *I* fare outdoors.  Keith works a lot in the spring.  And summer.  And fall.  (Winter too I guess).  I am terrified that I am going to have to figure out how to maintain the garden after work, while keeping up with the kids running in opposite directions and not being sufficiently afraid of the road knowing that I cannot take drugs and pass out for my head to toe hives from this endeavor on a daily basis.

I am not going to lie, THAT makes the farmers market sound pretty appealing.  Or even better yet- take out!

So, talk me down from the ledge.  Or into the farmers market.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nan
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 17:13:16

    You need to give the kids a little garden of their own, well not H but the other two can do some things, who cares if it gets weedy or they pull the veggies instead of weeds, it is teaching them. Brock promised to help me in my garden and we are going to try it this year (yes I am scared, he knows veggies as well as Papa Jimbo, “Is that a weed?”, “No it is a pepper plant”, Oh sorry I pulled it). He might get a little spot that he is confined to, I don’t think A will help out, she is kinda prissy.
    Jump in, who cares how good it is or not! At least you are trying.
    Mylene

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 18:07:04

    Go For It!!! You can do it, I have faith. Can you find a better allergy medicine that doesn’t knock you out?? We are planting a garden at our place this year as well…I am excited. We had one when we lived in Cairo, and I loved all the fresh veggies…the past few years we did one at my parents, but they ended up doing most of it. So this year Aaron plowed a spot in the fall, and as soon as it warms up and dries out a little we are going for it. Hayden is SO excited…he loves working outside and especially in the garden!! I can’t wait to hear how it goes!! 🙂

    Reply

    • Sara
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 19:47:58

      Ha, then I’d have to go to the dr. I dont really do that unless I am convinced I may die. Really, just because I am that cheap.

      There really arent many meds that are comaptible with nursing anyhow.

      Besides, then what excuse would I have for being lazy??

      Reply

  3. Nancy Lee
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 00:13:20

    There is a lot to be said for us folks that support our local farmers and buy at the outdoor market…

    Reply

  4. stemmefamily
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 15:47:02

    I was the same way last year when we did our garden. But then? I LOVED it! We have already been talking about what we are going to plant this year and I can’t wait for it to get a little more dry so we can till and get everything ready. I’ve been scouring all of my cookbooks and favorite cooking websites looking for new ways to incorporate all of our delicious veggies into our meals. Yummy! Can’t wait to hear how your’s turns out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

