Isabelle, my darling Isabelle…

I have a confession.

I have written this 3 or 4 times now, and deleted.  Nothing I type seems quite right. 

Isabelle is 4, and she thinks she is 14.  She is rather challenging at the moment.  Everything I write makes her seem like a raging brat, and that really isn’t the case.  She has her moments- and lots of them.  But really, she is a sweet kid, and very entertaining.

Initially, Isabelle can be a bit reserved.  She must get that from her dad.  It often takes a few meetings with someone before she will warm up enough to let her personality show.  And she has PLENTY of personality!  Sometimes she will come right out and talk to new people though.  I never really know.

I know I am biased, but I think she is pretty sharp.  She has a very quick wit that keeps me on my toes.  The child has the memory of an elephant too.  She never forgets anything.  EVER.  Talk about a pain!  And the drama!  Isabelle is a very dramatic child.  To the point of hilarity.  Though she usually doesn’t see the humor. 

She wants desperately to be a big kid, like her cousins.  She wants to go to real school and she really wants to lose teeth.  (which she almost succeeded in a few weeks ago, atop her brother’s head.  She managed to chip two of them.  Talk about DRAMA!  She managed tears over it when we went to the dentist… a week later)

Isabelle is also quite the little mother hen.  And a very good big sister, when not picking fights.  She thinks she needs to do everything from feeding and dressing the boys to, of course, scolding them.  She is just a tad on the bossy side.  That just means she will be an excellent leader later in life! 

Then she does silly stuff like walk in the room with her arms loaded down with bags and dolls and toys and tell me “I’m moving to New York”… we have never been to New York, but I guess she wants to go!  Then the next hour she spends telling Eli how to pack for the trip and how to drive to New York.  Also letting me know that if she is big enough to move to New York, she doesn’t really need a carseat anymore.  But she will still wear her seatbelt.  Then loading down Henry’s exersaucer with toys and bags and dress up clothes and “driving” the chair next to it… but stopping often to make Eli get out and pump gas. 

She has this special little grin and gets this gleam in her eye- you know you’d better hold on because something special is about to come!  Again, I am biased, but I think she is beautiful inside and out 🙂

Did I mention- she loves to shop!  And pedicures and all things girlie.  But she also catches more frogs than anyone I have ever seen.  And loves fishing, tractors, cows and all that jazz.  She is very much who SHE wants to be, and I think that is a great thing.

I love my Isabelle ❤

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nan
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 20:04:40

    She is one of the sweetest kids I know. She has to be bossy, she is the older sister (well, that is what my oldest always told me) but she is also protective of them. I love watching them in church.
    Mylene

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 20:14:53

    Love this!! I also think she is beautiful!!! I read your blogs and could have written them myself…I think we are living the same life! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Holly
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 21:23:58

    I think she is adorable. She has a smile that would melt an iceberg. She is very bright! She is farm girl & girlie girl all wrapped in one. What a great combination. She can get dirty & still look cute doing it. She is going to go far in life, Sara. :0)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

