Controlled Chaos

I think that is my constant state of being!

The last few months have been an escalated state of chaos though, and the control part was… well, non existent.

We have been so incredibly blessed over the past 4 years to have my mom watch all of our children for us.  Really amazing!!  But in November she got a part time job.  Couldn’t blame her one bit for needing some adult contact!  She had my sisters kids before mine came along, so she was on an 8 year run, and I think there has been at least one in diapers that whole time.

Now, she still had my kids some… but we had to make other arrangements for a few days a week.  In the end, the kids were going somewhere different every day.  Poor Keith couldn’t keep it straight at all!  But they were in great places getting lots of love. 

Fast forward from November to December and my mom breaks her foot.  Yikes!  So not only can she not do her REAL job, but she can’t keep the kids.  Again, very blessed in that my sister was on break from school  and was able to help out, as well as Keith’s parents… and after a week or so Mom was back to keeping at least the big kids some.  Throw in holidays, Isabelle being out of school, ice, Christmas programs at school and church, stomach bugs, etc and it was just a whirlwind! (and I am realizing why I haven’t blogged for a while)

Towards the end of December we kinda begged and groveled to get Grandma back full time.  I know it was a tough decision for her, but we got her back!  And hopefully in an arrangement that will work out better for everyone 🙂

I know that we are so fortunate to have such an awesome Grandma that can take care of my kids like no one else can!  It makes going to work every day much easier. 

My mom doesn’t read this blog (not sure she knows what a blog is to be honest), and I do try to tell her often how much I appreciate all she does.  But sometimes that isn’t enough, and it needs to be shared with others 🙂

 Sidenote: I was informing Isabelle that our schedule was going back to the way it was before on her way into school this morning.  She sighed and replied “The whole world is changing” 

I must say, I am thrilled beyond belief to get back to the (semi) controlled chaos of our life!

Thanks Mom!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nan
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 18:15:31

    And I am sure your mom loves watching the kids as well. Too bad our society doesn’t allow it more often. Glad your mom is better with her foot and you all have your routine back.
    Mylene

    Reply

  2. stemmefamily
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 20:16:12

    That’s awesome that you’re mom can watch them full-time again! We love using our parents 2 days/weeks and they are with Agnes the other 3 days so it’s like they are with grandmas all.the.time. Rotten little devils 😉

    Reply

  3. Holly
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 22:32:11

    I’m glad your schedule is able to get back to normal just a little sad I wont have Isabelle helping me with my makeup on Tuesday mornings anymore.
    Nothing better than having Grandma “LoveCare” for babysitting.
    We thank you for the chance to get to spend some time with her. Nathan, Chris & I liked having a little girl around. Though we dont miss the lugging the car seat in & out part..LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

