Perpetuating hatred in our children.

So, it pains me to admit it, but my husband has succeeded in perpetuating his hatred in our two older children.

I have always tried to be an open and accepting person.  Many would even go so far as calling me a feminist, a liberal, (a carseat nazi, a breastfeeding nazi, a crazy homebirthing, cloth diapering, babyfood making treehugging hippie and I am sure some others I wouldnt want to repeat.  And BTW, I am so not a tree hugging hippie.)

That said, it troubles the depths of my soul that my young children have been passed this burden of hate.

Does it color REALLY matter?

I mean c’mon we are talking about a tractor and some paint.

Yet, Isabelle refers to green tractors as “turd tractors” and Eli, not really even knowing the color green, hears someone say the word green and exclaims “EEEEWWWW green tractors are yucky!  Ewwww!”

We cannot drive past a green tractor without eliciting some sort of negative response.

I have tried to instill love and accpetance into their little hearts, but Daddy seems to be winning on this one.  No matter how many times I tell them God loves ALL tractors, no matter what color.

Yet this morning as we passed Sydenstrickers, Isabelle asks me “mommy WHY ON EARTH would anyone want a green tractor?  They are junk and they will just have to fix them all the time”

*waving my white flag*

I surrender.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy Lee
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 16:14:07

    so… welcome to blog world.. You need to add some gadget that people can click to follow. Don’t ask me how…I use blogspot… but somewhere there must be something…

    and green tractors are just so wrong…

    Reply

  2. stemmefamily
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 17:56:07

    Muahahahaha! I knew that you were talking about tractors before you said it. I’ve heard Isabelle say “turd tractor” before and it cracks me up 😀

    Also, sometime I want to talk to you about homebirthing. It scares me to even type that word out.

    Reply

  3. Missy DeLeo
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 18:35:15

    That is hysterical!! Which color, btw, is the best? I need to know in case I ever decide to buy a tractor. 🙂 I love your blog! So fun to read!!

    Reply

    • 0goob0
      Sep 30, 2010 @ 18:43:58

      RED. It has to be RED.

      Don’t screw that up or Keith may not let you stay with us again!

      Reply

      • Missy (KT)
        Oct 01, 2010 @ 02:47:52

        I’m pretty sure I won’t ever need a tractor, but just in case I do-or-I need to advise someone else on a tractor purchase, I will DEFINITELY make sure it’s red!!!!! 😛 I do not want Keith (or the kids) to call my tractor a turd! LOL!!

  4. Missy DeLeo
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 18:37:25

    ps-I love the “God loves all tractors” part!!!!

    Reply

  5. Nan
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 21:29:42

    Too funny, I know she says “turd tractors”. I also know she HATES the song “Big Green Tractor!” She is so cute and Eli is going to be the same way. Oh how much fun you are going to have.
    Mylene

    Reply

Leave a Reply

